Connecticut Knife Law – Basic Regulations to Use Knives & Blades

Connecticut Knife Law
By Sarmistha Banerjee Updated

Don’t be surprised by hearing about the legislations or legal rules on usage of the knife and blade. Yes, the laws are strict in some states of the U.S and others follow simple legislations. Long we have gone through different laws of the states of the U.S. Now, let us go through the Connecticut Knife Law, and know about the legal regulations of the state.

State Knife Law of Connecticut

Connecticut (CT) is the Southern state of the United States and Hartford is its capital. This state does not produce many restrictions regarding knife law but there are some sections of the knife laws which are needed to be followed by the citizens and migrants of the state.

According to the constitution of Connecticut, Article 1 (Section 15) every citizen has the right to bear arms for self-defense. However, you have to follow some regulations along with this statement.     

The ownership of a knife or a blade is unrestricted in Connecticut as long as it is in your home. Selling and buying are also permitted but you need to know some basic legislation for carrying the knives in different places. Moreover, you cannot hide knives or blades while traveling.

Note

A minor under 18 years cannot buy, sell or carry blades and knife without legal permission.

Carry Law of Connecticut

According to Section 53-206 of 2011 Connecticut Code (Title 53 crimes, Chapter 943) carrying a knife in the streets or public place is an offense against public safety and peace.

As per Section 53-206, carrying any dangerous weapon is prohibited which has an automatic spring release. Blades above 4” are restricted to carry. If you carry knives without any permission, then you have to compensate five hundred dollars or imprisoned for three years. Automatic knife and stilettos cannot be carried more than 15”. If you carry it, then the penalty is not less than $500- or three-years imprisonment.    

Concealment Carry Law of Connecticut

Many knives are illegal in Connecticut such as switchblades and pocket knife. Carrying knives by hiding is an offender against the law of Connecticut. The infringement of the law can penalize you with three years’ imprisonment and $500 fine. You may be imprisoned for five years or compensate with $1,000 fine if you carry the illegal blades and knives in vehicles without permission.

Limit of the Length of Knife in Connecticut

According to the Connecticut Knife Law, you cannot carry any knife which is longer than 4.5”. Moreover, the blade of the knife should not be longer than 1.5”. Only some people are allowed to carry large knives who require knives and blades in their profession like butchers, barbers, hunters and military departments.

Exception of Using Knives

According to codes 53-206 & 29-38, if the knife is required for your profession like fishing, the work of butcher, barber, security guard or in the armed force, then you won’t be penalized for using or carrying knives. However, you have to show your fishing, hunting or another license of your profession. Moreover, people are allowed to carry knives, blades, and other sharp elements when they are shifting to another place or changing their house.

Types of Legal Knives in Connecticut

All the citizens and migrants of Connecticut need to follow the legal regulations of Connecticut Knife Law for buying, using, carrying and selling different types of knives. Let us discuss some legal knives and blades of Connecticut:

  1. Razor Blade – According to Section 53-207, carrying or using razor is not an offense.  
  2. Bowie Knife – Bowie is a hunting knife that is often used by hunters and the butchers. However, it is allowed to use in Connecticut.
  3. Ballistic Knife – Ballistic Knife is a part of a switchblade and as per the Switchblade Act, citizens and migrants in Connecticut can carry Ballistic Knife but with the permission.
  4. Undetectable Knives – These knives are hard to detect because they are hidden knives and the handle of these knives is made of plastic, titanium, carbon fiber, ceramic, fiberglass and zytel. Lipstick knife and a pen knife are some of the examples of undetectable knives.
  5. Dirks/Daggers – This is a knife without a handguard. It is a deadly weapon, so you need to take permission from the authority for using dirk or dagger.
  6. Gravity Knife – This knife has a spinning motion to propel the blade out of the handle. It opens with a push.
  7. Balisong – Usually, this fanning or flipping knife is used for self-defense. It is allowed in Connecticut.
  8. Pocket Knife – The length of the pocket knife should be less than 1.5”.

Note

As per Section 53-207, you cannot carry any deadly knife and blade openly without legal permission.

Types of Illegal Knives in Connecticut

Not all knives are allowed to use and carry in Connecticut. You should know about the prohibited blades and knives in Connecticut because using illegal knives may put you in the jail for a long time:

  1. Any blade or knife longer than 4” is illegal.
  2. Automatic or concealed knife over 1.5” are illegal.
  3. Stilettos are illegal in Connecticut because of its pointed blade.
  4. Switchblade over 1.5” is illegal as per Connecticut Knife law.
  5. According to Section 53-206, you cannot carry metal or brass knife, knuckles, dirk and blackjack knife.
  6. You cannot carry throwing stars, batons, and nightsticks also.

Penalties for Carrying and Using Illegal Knives

If you use, buy or carry illegal knives, then he or she will fall guilty under Class E felony as per Section 53a-3. According to Section 53-206 of Connecticut Knife law, you have to compensate $1,000 or you will be imprisoned for five years.

Restricted Places to Use and Carry Knives in Connecticut

According to Connecticut Knife Law, there are many places where you are not permitted to carry knives and blades. You may have to compensate if you carry any sharp tools in such places.

  1. Schools – According to Section 53-207 of Connecticut Knife Law, you cannot carry knives and blades in office. You need to take the permission of the authority of the school or any educational institute for carrying or using a knife.
  2. Vehicles – According to Section 29-38 of Connecticut Knife Law, any person who carries any deadly weapon or a knife in public transports will be imprisoned for three years under Section 53-206 and he or she will be charged $500.   
  3. Government Buildings – Knives are restricted in government buildings like a bank, post office and court. If you carry knives and weapons in the government building, then the penalty for that will be $500.
  4. Public Places – You cannot carry knives and blades openly in streets, markets, fairs, and bus stand. If you are changing your home and carrying knives or other sharp tools, then keep the proof for that, so that you can show it to the investment officer of the state.

Bottom Line

The usage of knife is not restricted in Connecticut if it is used or carried legally by taking permission. Any wrong usage put you inside the lock-up. So, as a citizen of the state, it is your responsibility to follow the regulations of Connecticut Knife Law for buying, using, selling and carrying. Rules and regulations are made for your safety, so you should follow them for yourself and for the safety of other citizens or migrants in the state.