Delaware Knife Laws for Safeguarding the State Legally
In every American state, using the knives are bounded with some legal restrictions, whether you buy or sell it, and each citizen of the state needs to obey the legislation with lawful exceptions. However, you will get many variations in legal regulations while studying the laws of different states in the country. So, being a citizen or tourist to the place, use knives whenever needed but try to implement the Knife Laws to safeguard your family and to avoid high penalties.
Delaware (DE) is the first state to approve the knife related constitutions in the United States. Moreover, it is also known, the administration of this particular region regulates the legal limitations of knife very strictly compared to other states of the nation. So, let’s discuss Delaware Knife Laws, and get familiar with the regulations of the state in manufacturing, buying, selling, carrying and using different knives.
Federal Rules of Delaware Knife Law
As per the Dei.Const., Art: f.1, S 20 of Delaware State Constitution, it is the right of every individual to bear arms for self, family, and the state but with some lawful boundaries. Moreover, Delaware Knife Law prohibits exporting and selling undetectable knives, magnetometers and metal detectors, as per Dei.C – Section 1446A. Any person who violates the regulation will be guilty under Class G felony.
Remember, according to the Federal Knife Law of Delaware, you cannot sell deadly weapons and knives to the minor under 18 years, even the minor cannot purchase any knife or blade without the consent of his or her parents.
Delaware Knife Law Limitations on the Length of Blade
According to Title 11 – Dei.C. S 222(5) of Delaware Knife Law, it is legal to carry 3-inch blades or short pocket knife but without hiding the tool. Keeping long knives and the deadly weapon can lead to monetary compensation or imprisonment. Moreover, you need a license under Section 1441 of the Federal Constitution. You also need to renew the license after every two years.
Concealment Carrying Knife Law in Delaware
There is no restriction to carry legal knives with the permission of the Peace Officer of Delaware but a knife dealer or owner cannot carry by hiding with a deadly blade in a misleading way as per Concealment Law of 11 Dei.C. S 1442. However, breaching the regulation will fall under Class C felony and Class D felony. Also, if you assault or threaten someone by brandishing the deadly knives or any other sharp-edged tool then you will be punished under 11 – Dei.C. S 222.
Compensations for Breaching Delaware Knife Laws
As we have mentioned above that the Delaware Knife Laws are quite strict than the legislation of other states of America, so remember, violating the state knife laws may be punishable and you will be penalized as follows:
- For the breach of Dei.C – Section 1446A, you will fall under Class G felony, i.e. imprisonment for 12 months. So, avoid manufacturing and selling undetectable knives without a permit.
- If you sell knives to a minor then it is a Class G felony, and you will be in jail for 12 months.
- If you violate Title 11 – Dei.C. S 222(5) of Delaware Knife Law by carrying large knives, which are more than 2-inch without a license or special permission then you have to compensate $500 or will be jailed for 12 months.
- Infringement of Concealment Law of Title 11 Del.C. S 1442 falls under Class C and Class D felony for which you will be imprisoned for 2 years in the state jail. So, don’t carry any weapon or deadly knives in a misleading manner.
- Violation of Title 11 – Dei.C. S 222 and assaulting someone with knives or any deadly weapon will penalize you with $2300 fine and imprison you for 1 year.
Legal Knives in Delaware
There are no restrictions in carrying legally approved knives as per Delaware Knife Law but with exceptional limitations. You can buy and carry these knives in Delaware:
- Pocket Knives – There are various pocket knives that can be legally carried and purchased in Delaware but without concealment, you can carry them with a license for self-defense and cutting fruits or paper.
- Lock-Blade Knife/ Folding Knife – The Lock-Knife can be folded and easily carriable in bag and pocket for self-defense purpose, and it’s legal in Delaware.
- Bowie Knife – Usually, hunters, butchers, fishermen and medical practitioners use Bowie Knife for their respective works like slicing, hunting, and medical treatments whenever required. This knife is legally allowed for the citizens of Delaware, but if you are using Bowie for occupational purpose then you need ID proof and if you are using it for home or shop then your permit for a knife is mandatory.
- Balisong Knife – Balisong or butterfly knives have two handles with counter-rotating blade that can be closed and easy to carry. You can only use 3-inch Balisong knife in Delaware.
- Dagger – It is a self-defensive stabbing weapon generally used in older days. Nowadays, people do not prefer buying it because of its heaviness, still, if you want to purchase dagger then it’s legally permitted but the license is required while buying.
Illegal Knives in Delaware
Some knives are highly prohibited and banned in Delaware. You will never get a permit for such blades and knives in the state. Moreover, you cannot carry it in a hidden or concealed manner. Have a look at the illegal knives for the use of the citizens of Delaware:
- Gravity Knives – The Gravity knives are longer than 3-inch with high sharpness, and according to Title 11 – Dei.C. S 222(5) of Delaware Knife Law,knife-length more than 3-inch is not allowed to carry in Delaware.
- Switchblade – As per 11 Dei. C Section 1446, it is unlawful to sell, buy and carry switchblades that can be easily opened by pressing the spring or switch in the handle of the knife. It is prohibited because it’s designed for offensive activities with an unclassified misdemeanor.
- Metal Detectors – The Metal Detectors fall under the category of the undetectable hidden knife. So, you cannot manufacture, sell, buy, import and carry these blades, as per 11 Dei. C. Section 1446A because the blades of these knives can be easily separated with the handles to harm others.
- Brass Knuckles – Knuckle Knives can be easily carried by the ring-grip handles with the lumps of the hand. By pressing the trigger, one can harm someone with knuckle knife, so it is banned as per Delaware Knife law of 11 Dei. C. Section 1452 because it’s usage will fall under Class B misdemeanor in the state.
- Martial Art Knives/Throwing Stars – These sharp-edged deadly Throwing Stars are generally used by armed forces in the state or martial art team for their work. However, other than the soldiers, fighters and the police department of the state, common men of the state cannot use martial arts knives, as per 11 Dei. C. Section 1453. Breaching the rule will fall under Class B misdemeanor.
Penalties for Holding Illegal Knives in Delaware
The compensations for carrying illegal knives are very strict in Delaware. So, infringement of the Delaware Knife Laws by carrying the illegal knives will penalize you under these misdemeanors as follows:
- Committing Class B misdemeanor is a felony done for carrying Brass Knuckles, Throwing Stars, and Martial Art Knives. For this offense, you will be convicted for 3 years in the state prison.
- For the offense of doing Class C felony by carrying Gravity Knives, Metal Detectors and Gravity Knives, you will be in the jail for 12 months to 2 years or $2300 fine.
Places Where Knives and Other Weapons are Not Permitted
As per the regulations made by the Delaware (DE) State Statues, some places are completely prohibited for carrying blades, knives and other dangerous weapons such as:
- Educational Institutes (Schools, Coaching and Colleges)
- Public Transports (Bus, Shuttle, School Transport)
- Government Buildings (Courts, Police Station, and Municipality Office)
- Federal Properties (Airports, Banks and Post Offices)
- State Parks or Wildlife Sanctuary (Zoo)
Rules and Penalties for the Violation of Carrying Knives to Restricted Places
Some properties are maintained with serious security plans in Delaware, and breaking the rules by carrying knives or weapons at those places is a punishable offense. For the felonies, you have to compensate in the below mentioned ways:
- According to Section 1457 of Delaware Crime Code, you cannot carry knives or other arms in educational institutes. It falls under Class G & D felony where the individual will be arrested and kept in the lock-up for 6 years or he will be charged $25,000.
- Public transports are restricted places to carry and sell knives, as per Title 14-1100. It falls under the misdemeanor of Class F, where the guilty person will be convicted in jail for 6 months to 1 year.
- You are not allowed to carry knives and weapons in courts, police stations and other Government Buildings under the regulation of Title 11 – Section 1256. It’s a Class E felony and you will be imprisoned for 3 years in jail for that.
- The Delaware Supreme Court has also made a regulation under Title 7 – DNREC, you cannot carry knives in the parks and wildlife sanctuary in the state. It is a Class B felony, where you will be put inside the bar for 1 year.
Rapid growth of knife-related crimes and corruptions are spread and that’s the sole reason for commencement of the Delaware Knife Laws and the compensations by the Supreme Court of Delaware. However, the Federal Government has given responsibility to every citizen of the state to follow these legislation for safeguarding the inhabitants of the region and make the city corruption-free.